top of page
  • Dress Circle Reviews

Joseph and the Amazing technicolor Dreamcoat

Updated: Jul 24, 2021


Seeing Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat was the first show for a long time I’ve heard an Overture and I it made me realise how much I miss them. As much as I love Heathers it was the one thing missing – an Overture really brings out the anticipation for the show and draws you in and judging by the reaction this also delighted the audience. The show then opened to a light shining on Linzi Hateley as she took centre stage and looked slightly overcome by the wave of cheers she received.


I’ll admit I approached the show with low expectations but from the start it blew me away. It was an unexpected treat to see Linzi Hateley in a last-minute cast change. I had hoped to be able to see her from when she was first announced. Linzi owned the entire show. Whether narrating, playing Jacob or Potiphar’s wife she commanded the stage and her vocals were outstanding. Most of all, she just looked like she was having the time of her life and the audience were right there with her. A star turn we were lucky to see.


The story presented is that of Joseph, a young dreamer sold into slavery by his jealous brothers who makes good through his ability to interpret people’s dreams. The story is presented in such a ridiculous way but the production leans into that, exaggerating everything – even down to giant singing statues.


The young dreamer is played by Jac Yarrow, picked straight from graduating drama school in 2019 and reprising the role in this run. He has all the charm needed to play the role but it was his voice which amazed me, being so much more mature than I expected and giving me goose pimples during Close Every Door. I expect to see him in many more leading roles.


The stage throughout was awash with colour making everything so bright and cheerful and fun. The cast filled the stage with so much life and energy which was matched by the energy and excitement from this first non-socially distanced audience.


The show isn’t without its problems. It has lazy choreography and they milk “Song of the King” for applause to its last gasp. But the energy and joy flying from the stage more than compensate for this. It’s just a high energy and joyful musical which everyone can do with right now!


Rating: 4 Stars

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page